Vegan and Gluten Free: Banana Blueberry (Quinoa & Coconut) Muffin Squares

Banana Blueberry Muffin Squares (Gluten Free Vegan) (Coconut and QuinoaMoist. Delicious. Healthy

Since, the discovery that baking with quinoa is possible and tastes good, I am doubly excited when there is left over cooked quinoa in the fridge. Another killer combo in my mind is the marriage of banana and blueberry. LOVE in my mouth. Hence, when it looked like I had the ingredients in the kitchen to make Banana Blueberry muffins today, I jumped on the moment to create a healthy yet tasty snack that is good for lunches, afternoon pick me ups, or just a fun indulgence. Also, the main sugar that I used is low-glycemic!

It is so easy to make!

Ingredients

1 cup of coconut flour (or almond meal)

1 cup of cooked quinoa

4 ripe bananas

1 cup of blueberries (mine were frozen)

1 cup of coconut milk or other non-dairy milk

1/2 cup of coconut sugar

6 tbsp of ground flax seed (important ingredient! Flax is the egg replacement)

2 tbsp of coconut oil

1 tsp of baking soda

1 tsp of cinnamon

1/2 tsp of ground vanilla bean powder (you could use vanilla extract)

pinch of salt

Method

Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a food processor, I blended all of the ingredients except blueberries till smooth. After wards, I mixed in the blueberries into the batter with a spoon.

Lightly oil your muffin tins or use liners. I used a large baking sheet because I don’t have muffin tins and cut the “cake” up into squares. Pour your batter in to your chosen vessel.

Optional: Top with sliced bananas and sprinkling of coconut sugar.

Bake in the oven for 30 mins or till golden brown.

Enjoy the delicious scent that will fill up your kitchen and tastiness in you mouth! Share with your loved ones. They will be surprised by the healthy yumminess!

Cheers,

LR

PS: I am starting a Back to Basics: Health on a Budget Challenge next week. Look at my last post for details 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under breakfast, detox, food, recipes, snacks

What did you think?

